EGSOA Board Members

President, Dr. Sylvia Reynolds Eckes, 

Professor Emerita, Ohio University, Athens;

Past President and Vice President, International Grieg Society, Bergen

Artistic Advisor

Dr. Per Brevig, Conductor, Trombonist, Juilliard faculty

President, Grieg Society of New York

Grant Committee

Vice President  Dr. Marla Fogderud,

Voice Faculty, Northern State University, Aberdeen, South Dakota;

President, Edvard Grieg Society of the Dakotas

Secretary, Facebook and Twitter manager

Dr. Tessa Romano,

Lecturer in Voice University of Otago Dunedin, New Zealand

Web site manager

Grant Committee Chair

Dr. Cheryl Christensen 

Music Theorist, Researcher and translator of Norwegian

Acting Treasurer

Dr. Carol Wolfe-Ralph (DMA) (CPA)

Pianist and Teacher

Treasurer, Maryland State Music Teachers Association 

Development Chair

Dr. Gloria Cook, 

Professor of Piano, Rollins College; Director of Pre-College Grieg Competitions

Marketing Co-chair Laura Loge, Soprano;

President, Northwest Edvard Grieg Society

Book publishing contributor

Dr. Gregory Martin

Keyboard Faculty, University of Indianapolis,President, Edvard Grieg Society of the Great Lakes

Grant Committee

Dr. Mary Rose Norell Pianist and Director, Goshen College Community School of the Arts


New board member

Peter Skjervold

Chair, Edvard Grieg Society of Minnesota,

Executive Director, Nurses Peer Support Group

Scholarly Advisor

Dr. William H. Halverson, Past Vice President, EGSOA,

Associate Dean Emeritus, Office of Academic Affairs,

The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

Author/editor of numerous books on Grieg and translator of songs for Peters Publishers


Founding Board Members

From left: Mary Rose Norell, Marla Fogderud, William Halverson, Gloria Cook, Sylvia Eckes,

Gregory Martin at Grieghallen in Bergen, May 2015. 

Advisory Council

Einar Rottingen

Chair of the Board, International Grieg 

Society; Professor, University of Bergen


Monica Jangaard

Executive Board, International Grieg Society; Chief Curator, Edvard Grieg Museum, Troldhaugen, Bergen


Beryl Foster

Chair, Grieg Society of Great Britain;

President, International Grieg Society

Arvid O Vollsnes

Professor Emeritus, University of Oslo, Dept. of Musicology; Faculty at the

Centre for Grieg Research, Bergen


Join us on Facebook and Twitter!

  • s-facebook
  • Twitter Metallic

Incorporated in the State of Florida,

April 2015